Faculty Mentorship

FacultyMentorshipProgram

Are you a Dream Scholar looking for an academic mentor?  Do you need someone to ask questions about research options, careers in academia, academic opportunities and critical thinking in the class room? Please contact the Undocumented Student Services to be paired with a Faculty Mentors!

Faculty across twenty-five departments have volunteered their time to act as mentors for UC Santa Barbara Dream Scholars. The faculty on this list have participated in a Dream Scholars Ally Training session to learn how to best support undocumented students.


Dream Scholar Mentors

Tamara Afif
Communication
tafifi@comm.ucsb.edu

Joseph Blankholm
Religious Studies
blankholm@religion.ucsb.edu

Elizabeth Belding
Computer Science

ebelding@cs.ucsb.edu

David Berenstein
Physics
dberens@physics.ucsb.edu

Silvia Bermudez
Spanish & Portuguese
bermudez@spanport.ucsb.edu

Peter Bloom
Film and Media Studies
pbloom@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

James Brooks
History and Anthropology
jbrooks@history.ucsb.edu

Francesco Bullo
Mechanical Engineering
bullo@engineering.ucsb.edu

David Carr
Geography
david.lopez-carr@ucsb.edu

Verónica Castillo-Muñoz,
History
castillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu

Hector Ceniceros
Mathematics
hdc@math.ucsb.edu

Eve Darian-Smith
Global Studies
darian@global.ucsb.edu

Tony De Tomaso
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
anthony.detomaso@lifesci.ucsb.edu 

Miguel Eckstein
Psychological and Brain Sciences
miguel.eckstein@psych.ucsb.edu

Amr El Abbadi
Computer Science
amr@cs.ucsb.edu

Kathy Foltz
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
foltz@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Sabine Fruhstuck
East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies
fruhstuck@eastasian.ucsb.edu

Howard Giles
Education
giles@comm.ucsb.edu

Giles Gunn
Global Studies
ggunn@global.ucsb.edu
 

Christian Herrera
Psychological and Brain Sciences
christian.herrera@psych.ucsb.edu

Maria Herrera-Sobek
Chicana and Chicano Studies
maria.sobek@evc.ucsb.edu

Luc Jaeger
Chemistry and Biochemistry
jaeger@chem.ucsb.edu

Jennifer Kam
Communication
jkam@comm.ucsb.edu

Terence Keel
Black Studies
tkeel@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Armand Kuris
Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
MCD Biology, College of Creative Studies
kuris@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Narayani Lasala-Blanco
Department of Political Science
narayanilasala@polsci.ucsb.edu

Ken Millett
Mathematics
millett@math.ucsb.edu

Carlos Morton
Theater and Dance
cmorton@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Todd Oakley
Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology
oakley@lifesci.ucsb.edu

John Park
Asian American Studies
jswpark@asamst.ucsb.edu

Gustavo Ponce
Mathematics
ponce@math.ucsb.edu

Eric Prieto
French and Italian
prieto@frit.ucsb.edu

Simone Pulver
Environmental Studies
pulver@es.ucsb.edu

Matt Quirk
Counseling, Clinical and School Psychology
mquirk@education.ucsb.edu

Fabio Rambelli
Religious Studies
rambelli@religion.ucsb.edu

William Robinson
Sociology
wirobins@soc.ucsb.edu

Cissy Ross
Writing Program
cross@writing.ucsb.edu

Richard Ross
Art
rross@arts.ucsb.edu

Pradeep Sen

Electrical and Computer Engineering
psen@ece.ucsb.edu

David Sherman
Psychology
david.sherman@psych.ucsb.edu

Heather Steffen
Writing & English
hsteffen@writing.ucsb.edu

Doug Steigerwald
Economics
doug@econ.ucsb.edu

Cristina Venegas
Film and Media Studies
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Emanuel Vespa
Economics
vespa@econ.ucsb.edu

Aaron Zimmerman
Philosophy
azimmerman@philosophy.ucsb.edu