About Us

The Guardian Scholars Program at UCSB currently supports approximately 180 students. The program helps to ensure that incoming students have a smooth transition into the UCSB community and are provided with network of services to enhance their educational experience. The program provides academic advising, leadership opportunities, campus resource referral, mentoring, career guidance, social support and much more!

Program Coordinators

Peer Advocates

Departmental Liaisons

 Name Position Email
Phone

Cuca Acosta

Associate Director, Office of Admissions

refugia.acosta@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-2307

Jane Faulkner

Student Success Librarian, UCSB Library

faulkner@ucsb.edu

(805) 893-5380

Jeff Landeck

Writing, ESL & Foreign Language Coordinator, CLAS

jeff.landeck@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4757

Dr. Meridith Merchant

Psychologist, Counseling Services

meridith.merchant@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4411

Micaela Morgan

Program Coordinator, McNair Scholars Program

micaela.morgan@ucsb.edu

(805) 893-3615

 

Mario Munoz

Assistant Director, Apartment Assignment Services, Housing and Residential Services

mmunoz@housing.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-7391

Suzanne Perkin

Assistant Dean, Office of Student Life

suzanne.perkin@sa.ucsb.edu

 

(805) 893-4364

Rebecca Plotkin

Financial Aid Advisor, Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships

rebecca.plotkin@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-5949

Jack Rivas

Academic Advisor, College of Letters and Science

jrivas@ltsc.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-2948

Lana Smith-Hale

Career Counselor, Career Services

lana.smith-hale@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4649

Laney Stucki

Counselor, Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)

delaney.stucki@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4578

Andrew Vesper

Chief Social Worker, Student Health

andrew.vesper@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-3380

Gary White


Acting Director, Disabled Students Program

gary.white@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-2668