Skip to content

Dream Scholars Resource Team

The Dream Scholars Resource Team (DSRT) mission is to develop an awareness and understanding of the experiences of undocumented and AB 540 eligible students (while maintaining the confidentiality of individual students) and to develop campus responses and processes to address their needs related to persistence, retention, and graduation. 

At UCSB, our Dream Scholars are served by staff, faculty and students from across the campus. Committee members represent different entities across campus that work directly with students, including faculty conducting research relevant to Dream Scholars and those working in policy areas that impact Dream Scholars. Our program design and philosophy is to have as many departments as possible responsible for Dream Scholars’ needs, resources, policies, advocacy, education, and support.

The goal of the campus Dream Scholars Resource Team is to:

  • Review campus, UC, state and federal policies and implement a campus plan that is compliant and supportive of the needs of UCSB students.
  • Clearly reinforce the values of the University to maintain a diverse student body and advocate for the needs of student communities.
  • Assess the needs of Dream Scholars in the areas of student development, academic support, wellness, finances, career preparation, extracurricular opportunities and advocacy.
  • Refer legal assistance needs to qualified legal counsel.
  • Assist in the education and awareness of the campus community.
  • Provide avenues to support experiential opportunities for career and professional development.
  • Facilitate financial hurdles and work toward their resolution.
  • Develop a community of support and mentorship at all levels of the university’s mission.
  • Increase dialogue, collaboration and problem solving amongst key departments.
  • Maintain the integrity needs for the confidentiality and identity of Dream Scholars.

DSRT Chair
Rosa Salamanca | Undocumented Student Services

DSRT Members (attend DSRT meetings & represent department)
Allina Mojarro | amojarro@ucsb.edu | Associated Students
Anna Manuel | anna.ucimm@law.ucdavis.edu | UC Immigrant Legal Services Center
Anna Khachatryan | annakhachatryan@ucsb.edu | Undocumented Student Services
Craig Leets | cleets@ucsb.edu | RCSGD
Cuca Acosta | refugia.acosta@sa.ucsb.edu | Admissions
Dori Friesen | dori.friesen@sa.ucsb.edu | Office of the Registrar
Emma Cristofani | cristofani@ucsb.edu | CLAS
Enrique Guzman | enrique.guzman@ucsb.edu | Early Academic Outreach Program
Esmeralda Tranquilino | etranquilino@ucsb.edu | Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships
Gary Colmenar | colmenar@ucsb.edu | Library
Haley Orton | shashmi@engineering.ucsb.edu | College of Engineering
Jennifer Kam | jkam@comm.ucsb.edu | Department of Communications
Jennifer Leon | jdleo@ucsb.edu | EOP
Jessica Adams | jessicaadams@ucsb.edu | CAPS
Julia Choi | jchoi@housing.ucsb.edu | Housing
Katherin Quintanilla | katerin.quintanilla@barc.ucsb.edu | BARC
Luis Naranjo | luis.naranjo@sa.ucsb.edu | Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships
Lupe Navarro-Garcia | navarrogarcia@ucsb.edu | Student Academic Support Services
Maddie Foster | maddie.foster@sa.ucsb.edu | Career Services
Maggie Cazares | mcazares@ucsb.edu | College of Letters and Science Academic Advising
Mirian Gutierrez | mirian.gutierrez@ucsb.edu | Early Academic Outreach Program
Ozzie Espinoza | oesp@ucsb.edu | EOP
Rebecca Plotkin | rebecca.plotkin@sa.ucsb.edu | Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships
Ronaldo Noche | rnoche@ucsb.edu | MultiCultural Center
Saúl Quiroz | squiroz@ucsb.edu | Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships
Silvia Bermúdez | bermudez@spanport.ucsb.edu | Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Terrie Tran | ttran@housing.ucsb.edu | Housing
Viviana Marsano | marsano-v@ucsb.edu | Office of Student Life
Yafte Cardenas | USS Intern
Yuval Cohen | asopdsadirector@as.ucsb.edu | AS Director of Dream Scholar Affairs

Student Representation
UCSB IDEAS
UndocuQT

 


Campus Departments

The Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships

The Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships provides resources specific to AB 540 & CA Dream Act Applicants. A Dream Scholar Advisor and two Dream Scholar Peer Advisors are available to answer questions directly in person, on the phone, or in an email.

For more information, check out the department's website or follow the quick links below.

Career Services

Career Services is committed to ensuring student success, regardless of citizenship or immigration status. Unfortunately, these factors can add additional stress to undocumented students when trying to gain experience, obtain post-graduation employment, and/or apply to graduate school. Check out Career Service's Undocumented Students Career Guide for additional career information.

For questions regarding Career Services, contact:

  • Maddie Foster, Career Counselor
    Undocumented Student Liaison, Dream Scholar Resource Team Member
    (805) 893-4412
    maddie.foster@sa.ucsb.edu

Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS)

Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS) is committed to providing timely, culturally appropriate, and effective mental health services to our diverse UCSB student body, as well as professional consultation to faculty, staff, and families. All registered students are eligible for services at CAPS. Mental health services provided include crisis intervention, psychological assessment, individual therapy, group counseling, and referrals to campus and community resources.

In collaboration with USS, CAPS created the Empowerment Circle, a support group specifically for Dream Scholars. The group is facilitated by Dr. Jessica Adamas. Meetings occur every week starting week 3-4 of the quarter.

For the location, contact jessicaadams@ucsb.edu.

For 24/7 support, contact the CAPS hotline: (805) 893-4411

Resource Center for Sexual & Gender Diversity

The RCSGD offers a study and social lounge along with a cyber center featuring new Apple computers. The RCSGD provides students with connections to student organizations as well as campus, local and national resources. The center offers quarterly LGBTQ awareness workshops by request.

Student leaders initiated the UndocuTrans & UndocuQueer support group for undocumented students who also identify as trans* or queer. For more information please visit 

Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)

The Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) is committed to providing a support and information base that validates each student's experience and nurtures a sense of participation, belonging and empowerment. Through mentorship, academic programs, one-to-one counseling/advising, campus student support service referrals and social/cultural programming, we strive to maximize a student's involvement and success in the campus academic community. In addition to assisting students through to graduation, EOP helps motivate and inform students to utilize services to enhance their preparation for the job market and/or graduate/professional school admission. EOP focuses on serving those who are income eligible and first-generation undergraduates.

Need to make an appointment? Contact EOP here.