Skip to content

About Us


The Guardian Scholars Program at UCSB currently supports approximately 180 students. The program helps to ensure that incoming students have a smooth transition into the UCSB community and are provided with a network of services to enhance their educational experience. The program provides academic advising, leadership opportunities, campus resource referral, mentoring, student advocacy, career guidance, social support and much more!

Program Coordinators

steph

Stephany Rubio

Guardian Scholars Program Coordinator

Office of Admissions, 1234 Cheadle Hall
(805) 893-5631
Stephany.rubio@sa.ucsb.edu
Book an Appointment with me! 

Lisa_Przekop

Lisa Przekop

Guardian Scholars Program Advisor
UCSB Director of Admissions


Office of Admissions, 1234 Cheadle Hall
(805) 893-3641
Lisa.Przekop@sa.ucsb.edu

Peer Advocates


Our Peer Advisors are students of the Guardian Scholars Program who have been hired to assist in programmatic activities and development. As the front line staff, the Peer Advisors are the face of the program from the perspective of their fellow students. They facilitate meetings, plan and conduct student activities, and lead the student organization of the program.

 

Peer Advocates will be announced this Fall 2019.




Departmental Liaisons


The Guardian Scholars Advisory Committee is made up of a dozen UCSB staff who have volunteered to serve as their respective departmental liaisons to the program and our students. Due to their support, Guardian Scholars receive priority consideration, expedited appointments, and most of all, access to compassionate staff with whom they can trust. 

       
 Name Position Email
Phone

Cuca Acosta

Associate Director, Office of Admissions

refugia.acosta@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-2307

Jeff Landeck

Writing, ESL & Foreign Language Coordinator, CLAS

jeff.landeck@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4757

Dr. Meridith Merchant

Psychologist, Counseling Services

meridith.merchant@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4411

 

Mario Munoz

Assistant Director, Apartment Assignment Services, Housing and Residential Services

mmunoz@housing.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-7391

Rebecca Plotkin

Financial Aid Advisor, Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships

rebecca.plotkin@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-5949

Jack Rivas

Academic Advisor, College of Letters and Science

jrivas@ltsc.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-2948

Lana Smith-Hale

Career Counselor, Career Services

lana.smith-hale@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4649

Jessica Paredes

Counselor, Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)

jessica.paredes@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-4578

Andrew Vesper

Chief Social Worker, Student Health

andrew.vesper@sa.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-3380